Forum

how does one know i...

Notifications
Clear all

how does one know if they're ready to take on clients?  

RSS

Daanish
(@Daanish)
29/10/2020 10:15 am  

Hi guys, I'm fairly new to bookkeeping. I've been doing it for 6 months but have only been working with 1 client.

I'm trying to figure out what's the base I need to have before I start taking on more clients. Is there any minimum amount of knowledge I should have before doing so? Are there any courses I can take that would cover all the basics?

Thanks

Dan

QuoteSolved
 Don
(@don)
02/11/2020 6:50 pm  

Hi Dan.  There are two bases for accounting, the accrual and the cash, then there's the tax basis which is closer to cash basis as far as small businesses are concerned.   What small businesses are interested in for the most part is someone to keep their books so they can file their taxes annually. 

So, it could be that a simple single entry cash basis system is sufficient for smaller businesses, while a larger business (but still a very small business as far as revenue is concerned) might need their books kept using a cash basis double entry system.  If you ever keep books for a business that has inventory then it may need its books kept on an accrual basis, at least for the inventory part.

Here is a link explaining cash basis accounting and showing a simple single entry system.  Something like Quicken is probably sufficient for this.

https://www.business-case-analysis.com/cash-basis-accounting.html

QuickBooks keeps a bookkeeping system using both cash and accrual basis.