Forum

what's the minimum ...

Notifications
Clear all

what's the minimum knowledge one should have before taking on clients?  

RSS

Dan
(@dan-4)
29/10/2020 10:20 am  

Hi guys, I'm fairly new to bookkeeping. I've been doing it for 6 months but have only been working with 1 client.

I'm trying to figure out what's the base I need to have before I start taking on more clients. Is there any minimum amount of knowledge I should have before doing so? Are there any courses I can take that would cover all the basics?

Thanks

Dan

Dennis+Fazio
(@Dennis Fazio)
29/10/2020 11:18 am  

I was in your situation also. I worked with one client for a year or so, learned QuickBooks Online and bookkeeping (never had any accounting or bookkeeping training). Take advantage of the software vendors training videos and read lots on the web about accounting and bookkeeping fundamentals. 

It's hard to list the minimum knowledge; it depends on your clients' needs. 

When you feel pretty comfortable with your ability to do the basic stuff of transactions and reports with your initial client, you can take on additional clients, preferably similar to what you're already doing. You should probably specialize in a type like commercial small business or small nonprofit. The rules are different for each.

I found it important to restrict who I would take on, in my case requiring books be done in QuickBooks Online only (no desktop), and payroll done by a full service payroll outfit so I didn't have to mess with all that. I also don't do taxes, but keep the books well-ordered and classified to make it easy for the tax accountant.

ReplyQuote
(@casey-4)
29/10/2020 2:10 pm