Forum

Worth it?  

RSS

(@rivergirl)
08/02/2020 1:53 pm  

Hello all... I was a graphic designer for years. I eventually incorporated and ran the business with my husband. I went from doing everything on paper to doing corporate bookkeeping in QuickBooks (desktop version.)

I'm a little rusty but it wasn't that hard for me and I'm sure I'd pick things back up again quickly.

My questions are:

- worth to spend the time/money to get certified? am I going to learn anything that I didn't already know? keep in mind I was primarily a designer and while my accountant said I did a good job, I remember realizing that there was a lot about accounting/bookkeeping back then that I didn't know.

- will this help me get new clients? I haven't been in the workforce for several years (raising a child) and I'm thinking that certification might help a new clients feel more confident hiring me.

Thanks in advance for your input.

Casey Stokes
(@Casey Stokes)
08/02/2020 2:19 pm  

What certification are you thinking about?  

ReplyQuote
(@casey-4)
08/02/2020 2:22 pm  

What certification are you thinking about?

ReplyQuote
(@rivergirl)
08/02/2020 2:23 pm  

@casey-4

Getting certified as a bookkeeper for those who don't have an accounting background/education.

ReplyQuote
(@casey-4)
08/02/2020 2:33 pm  

I don't know that it will help with getting more clients, but it is definitely worth the getting for your own knowledge.  It will also help you in fixing QB issues for clients, if you understand the accounting that goes on, behind the scenes in QB.

ReplyQuote
 Don
(@don)
18/02/2020 9:22 pm  

IMO,  getting certified shows a level of competency in bookkeeping. Very recent knowledge and competency. If that doesn't help you gain new clients I don't know what would, other than completing a 2 to 4 year college degree with a major in accounting.  And that is too time consuming and expensive, and not necessary IMO.